Raspberry Beret….

The kind you find in a second hand store.  I love that song!  And, I love charity shops.  Keeping with the frugalness in our life.  We shop charity stores, and eat at home.
Speaking of raspberries, my brilliantly talented friend Shaheen came up with The New Vegetable Palette-New Vegetarian Food Blogging Challenge. So, I created a raspberry lemon muffin recipe.  A friend brought over some lovely raspberries.  I decided muffins needed to be made.

a1all

The artist part of me loves this. As well as the chef part of me. I love eating seasonal fruits, and vegetables.  And, I love a colorful plate of food.

Here is the muffin recipe. It is date sweetened, and gluten free.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

juice of 1 lemon

zest of 1 lemon

1 1/2cup soymilk

2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1 cup dates

1Tablespoon psyllium husk

1cup rice flour

1/2 cup sorghum flour

1/4 cup tapioca flour

1/4 cup potato starch

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking sod

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 375F. In a blender, combine the milk, vinegar, and dates. Puree until smooth. In a mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add the wet ingredients. Stir. Gently fold in the raspberries. Pour the batter in a lightly greased muffin tin, or you can use the paper muffin cups in the tin. Bake 20-25 minutes. Yield: 12 muffins

001

Speaking  beautiful red fruits, and vegetables, here are some lovely tomatoes we grew in our garden. 

a1tom

Well, I’m off to make dinner for my boys.

Enjoy your day.

x

Krys

 

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Beret….

  1. Thank you so much Krys, Your raspberry beret (I love that song too) is the first ever entry into The Vegetable Palette, Thank you, so much for your support and genuine warmth. Those tommys look great too, ours are still v. tiny and v. green.

    • I’m so happy to the first entry. I really love your blog. And, your recipes are so tasty, and creative. I love the Vegetable Palette. It is a wonderful idea. I can’t wait to see what next month’s color is. 🙂 Sending hugs across the pond, and lots of warmth to your tommys.

Leave a Reply

